Saturday Night Shopping with Pure Prana Label

* What is your name and your shop name

My name is Cindy van den Heuvel, owner and creator of Pure Prana Label.

iusa_400x400-40615561_6n4i

* How did you get started in your craft?

I graduated as a mastor tailor, earlier in life, and had an internship with a well known hat designer located in the Netherlands, where all hats were made by hand. I finished this internship with all A’s and I got invited at an art academy in Rotterdam. I loved it, but I could not see how I would ever have my own label. Internet wasn’t so far yet and owning a real shop would cost me a lot of investments. I got cold feet and started working in several jobs, still in fashion, but I wanted to be an entrepreneur. In my 30’s I started with yoga class and somehow I couldn’t find the products I’d like, it was all a bit boring to me and I wanted something beautiful and Eco-friendly. That was the moment I started making some products, showed them on Facebook, to see how people would react and… I had my first sale instantly. I loved it and figured this could be my niche!

il_570xn-1021552889_es2d

* What made you decide to sell on Etsy

I didn’t know Etsy, it is not so well known in The Netherlands, but when I was talking about starting my own label a friend told me about his friend who sold jewelry on Etsy. A worldwide network of artist. I figured this would be handy, I had no idea how big Etsy was. I opened my shop, just as a hobby at first and sold my first collection right away. This year I completely changed my strategy and re- opened the store with new products. I am officially an entrepreneur now 😀 and making income out of my creativity… Finally!

il_570xn-1014824509_6tvm

* Tell us about the items in your shop:

Mostly my items are used for meditation, yoga or relaxation, but I am heading to a home decor line as well. My products are made out of organic linen, European linen, which is very strong and durable. I only use non toxic dyes and try to work as durable as possible. All prints are hand-printed and I love using old techniques like wooden stamps or shibori.
il_570xn-1003827791_86xa
* What inspires you?

My inspiration comes from the most strange places, during the day I am collecting color patterns in my mind. I can’t explain how inspiration works actually, I think it is like a little antenna on top of my head that’s collecting wherever I am, every moment of the day and at one point… It just all comes together in a new idea.

il_570xn-993939463_bbc3

* How long you have been crafting or selling

I started at Etsy in 2014, I have always been creative and that showed in all levels of my life. I can’t remember a time that I didn’t create, invent or had ideas to create. I have always called them ‘my projects’ and I am making people crazy with it. So it is good that I can loose some of that creativity now in my products!
il_570xn-1012584361_bszg
* What your plans are for the future with your work

I am officially an entrepreneur now and I love it. Besides Etsy I have opened my own web-shop at Purepranalabel.com and I am so proud of that step!
I do like to sell on Etsy, so that will not change, but I’d like to be more established as a label, so I do think my own site will help me with this. My goal is to be known as ‘that label that sells amazing beautiful and sustainable meditation cushions’ and has stellar customer service!

il_570xn-1003829289_cuqg

Thank you for taking the time to interview with me, Cindy!  Your Etsy shop is lovely and its wonderful of you to share your awesome Etsy Success story with us!  

You can visit her shop here: https://www.etsy.com/shop/PurePranaLabel?ref=l2-shopheader-name

Leave a Reply

