Interview with VeniceHandmadeCrafts

Meet Maria from VeniceHandmadeCrafts,  I am so glad that Maria agreed to interview to let us get a better insight to her shop and her lovely artwork!

il_570xn-886193769_39nh

What made you decide to open a shop on Etsy?

Well, to tell the truth it was my daughter’s Alice who gave me the idea and pushed me to …I  had been giving  away my wreaths as gifts and I guess almost everybody of my relations has one of them ,so when one day I was wondering about what I would do with my wreaths, Alice just  told me “Open your Shop  on Etsy, Mom, and sell them!” il_570xn-992500999_1yb6


Why do you think it is important to support handmade?

It is important to support handmade because it is much more than that. Handmade embodies manual skill, technique, imagination, fancy, artistic genius. It pushes your ability to find necessary solutions to unexpected problems and  stimulates you to go over and over towards almost new and different horizons. Handmade apparently takes you  time, actually it  GIVES you time, time  for yourself, time to sit, relax and create. When I am working on my wreaths I just think of them, nothing else comes to bother me, troubles are all far away. It is therapy And last ,handmade  is the expression of that love  we pour into our creations, handmade  IS love.

il_570xn-935828529_3toc

What inspires your creations?


It can be anything, a particular request from a customer,  an image seen on the web , an episode  or a particular moment in the life of the person my wreath is made for, and memories, of course, combined with particular moods . My almond blossom  felt wreath is maybe my happiest creative process. I was tidying away all the left milky felt from a work and meanwhile thinking back to past summer holidays to Holland .The images of my boy then 4, of Van Gogh’s Museum and of his  Almond Blossom followed one another , and the idea of making my own Almond Blossom shaped…
il_570xn-964840328_bhw7

How would you describe the creations in your shop?

I hope you will not think of  me as conceited, but I would describe most of the creations in my shop s as artistic…They are  the  landscapes I would paint, the short novels  I do not write, the melodies I would play (if only I were able to 😉 )They come out from the deep of my soul, they are myself, and though they all get the impression they are meantime different because they reflect my varied personality.

il_570xn-924137096_4kur

What projects are you working on now?
I am working on the idea of the BORN FROM LOVE wreaths for nursery rooms, announcements and baby showers.

il_570xn-988154795_oebd

What’s the most indispensable item in your studio?

That’s a difficult question to answer…there is not only one…felt?  Styrofoam wreaths? Hot glue? Needle and cotton wire? Beads? Synthetic padding? I need all of them but as you ask me for the most indispensable item, one only,  I will answer it’s my fancy, my imagination, as there is no creation without but  only copying.

il_570xn-916473950_9asy


What one artist living or deceased would you like to hang out with for a day, who would it be?

Well, I love Van Gogh,  he was a misunderstood genius, yet his depressed mood would not be the ideal company to stroll with …I would choose Gauguin as the ideal mate for a hanging out day with ..he  traveled all over the world, from Peru to Europe and last Tahiti, he would have so much to tell…and his  two-dimensional  images, his spot colors , have much in common with felt shapes…and maybe we could hang  out together on one of those days he was friend with Van Gogh and have a glass of wine the three of us, that  would be amusing!

il_570xn-995162927_pt8w

What are your thoughts about being an Etsy  shop owner in this day and age?

I’m still a very young Etsy shop owner, I  started  this adventure as an Etsyan only  in November 2015. I like it , I like getting in touch with people from all over the world  and I like  learning about so many thingsI didn’t know. Yet, what I like  most is that thrilling  sensation, that exciting feeling which  pervades me whenever I get an order from overseas. I realize that something  I MADE  is going to be in the States because someone loves it so much that he/she has chosen it among  so many others and wants it to be hanged on the front door  of ,their house and I know that we will be both proud of that, me, the maker, and he/she, the owner, who will welcome guests home with one of my felt wreaths! Exciting, indeed!

il_570xn-939693030_jl0v
What do you think about social networking, do you think it’s vital for selling your artwork and why?

Yes, social networking  is vital for selling my artwork. That is what makes my shop  and my articles known  around. Talent, competence, professionalism, reliability, good manners also, these are all important elements to carry on a business everywhere  and on the Net they assume  even more importance because people out there do not know you from the real and must trust you.  But you, the vendor, who are in possession of all these requirements, you need  also the means to reach  the beautiful minds , the refined spirits  which could be our potential customers. Social networking  provides us with those means.

il_570xn-886484454_ezjh

What is one important piece of advice you could give a new Etsy shop owner?

As a maker I would suggest  any new Etsy shop owner to pay attention to the human aspect of the matter. I say, treat your customers as if they were friends, establish a human contact with them, though respecting  limits  and individual features ,and  “pamper” them : a nice packaging, a greeting card, a thanking discount code will serve the purpose. Think as if it were you the buyer, what would you appreciate most? Do that what !

Where else can we find you on the web?

You can find my shop  on Instagram. I also have a shop  account  on Pinterest under my own name .As to Facebook  you can find my page but not my shop, not  yet, though  I am so happy with my wreaths every time one is over that I immediately post the pictures!

www.instagram.com/venicehandmadecrafts/

https://it.pinterest.com/mariapescarollo/

https://www.facebook.com/maria.pescarollo

Leave a Reply

