Interview with WoodenRoads on Etsy

  • Interview with  Timothy Latimer from WoodenRoads

    * What is your name and your shop name
    My name is Tim and my shop is Wooden Roads

    il_570xn-914578855_mal8

    * How did you get started in your craft?
    In 1994 my wife and I bought a home. As usual with a new home, we needed a few repairs and upgrades. So I started watching all the home improvement shows and that got me interested in wood working. Since then I’ve made many pieces of furniture.

    il_570xn-789435387_4mog

    * What made you decide to sell on Etsy?
    A friend of my wife’s mentioned it to me and I began to read all the help articles. After that I just had to try it.

    il_570xn-789145495_t883

    * Tell us about the items in your shop:

    For my jewelry boxes I tried to use woods that complement each other. I love working with walnut. It starts out very dull and then you sand and wipe on a finish. It takes on a character and depth that’s very warm. All the mod holders are left over from working with a wholesaler. That’s why there’re priced inexpensively. I’m developing a line of bathroom accessories that I hope people will like.

    il_570xn-1007645235_u211

    * What inspires you?
    The best is when I can fill a need for someone. From store displays to simple storage solutions working to solve problems really gets me going.

    il_570xn-949390982_i2du

    * How long you have been crafting or selling
    Since 1994 I’ve been a hobbyist woodworker. In 2011 I decided I wanted to go full time at this.

    il_570xn-914529973_1mjs

    * What your plans are for the future with your work
    I’d like to continue to develop items for the home. For the bathroom my next item will be a toothbrush holder. It will go with the toilet paper holder and soap holders. I would like to work with a jewelry maker to develop a display case. It would unpack into a portable display and pack back into a carrying case. I’d also like to become an employer. The best thing you can do for a person is a job.

     il_570xn-961513410_3ufv

Thank you Timothy for taking the time to tell us about your Etsy shop, the items you create and what inspired you!

Leave a Reply

