Why is handmade so expensive?

Why is handmade seem more expensive than mass produced?

I have had so many people ask me over and over: “Why are handmade items so costly?” My answer has always remained the same, after 19 years of selling handmade jewelry I can list thousands of reasons; however I won’t bore you with thousands and settle for a few very important reasons.
When buying handmade you must take into consideration not only the quality materials that the artisan uses, but the expertise, time, and love spent creating an original and unique work of art.
Sure, you may be able to go buy a trendy necklace that “EVERYONE who is ANYONE” is wearing, or those FAB “knock-Off” duplicate earrings like Angelina Jolie wears, but really, in all actuality I prefer to wear custom created jewelry that no one else is wearing. Call me different, call me what you will but I love to sport a style that screams for attention.

With department store, mass produced jewelry lines you can’t get that satisfaction of knowing you are one stylish and unique individual. So, it is in this respect that I will gladly spend my hard earned cash to own a custom created piece of wearable art. The fact that no one else has a duplicate is gives me a most devious pleasure I’m afraid! It is what sets me apart from everyone else, and gives me an edge over Angelina, she may have Brad Pitt but I have a whole collection of one of a kind jewelry pieces that always get me attention when I wear them!

Another important thing to remember is that individual artisans aren’t out to make a “Killing” by creating one of kind handmade items. Most artisans are truly “Starving Artists” and are trying to in all actuality, to make ends meet. As an artist I can tell you that even though some people tell me my prices are high I still do not charge enough money to actually make a profit, however I love creating and my love for creating art is my clients gain.

When you purchase a handmade item there is no comparison between it and an item that was produced by a machine on an assembly line. First, the machine that is slamming out 1000 necklaces per hour doesn’t care about quality, it is a machine, and its one function is to repeat the same motion over and over and over again.

When an artisan creates a piece of art there is a lot of care that goes into each piece. The amount of fine detailing and special attention that is given to each and every step throughout the creating process can take an artisan hours or even days to complete. I can assure you that handmade items are created with much thought, special care and an abundance of love. Most every item an artisan creates has a story of inspiration behind it, and thus being said that creation holds more meaning than a mass produced item that has no story behind its creation other than a CEO waiting to climb the corporate ladder and receive a six figure income.

In all reality, I buy handmade whenever I can. I like knowing that I am supporting an artist who could be a single mother, a college student, a retired person who has little or no retirement to rely on, or even the artist who has a dream of working from home in order to stay home with her or his family. I love the fact that I can support a dream for someone, and that when I buy handmade I am giving something back to the community.

In closing, I must be sure to add that supporting and buying handmade has been one of the most positive experiences I have had, not just in my collection of fine art for myself and home, but also when giving gifts to family and friends. I can honestly tell you that nothing says “I care” and “I love you” more than giving a handmade item.
Sure, a box of expensive chocolates for Valentine’s Day or an anniversary is very sweet and tasty, but an artisan created piece of jewelry lasts much longer and portrays a message “I’m giving you this gift because it is as unique and special as you are.” This statement couldn’t be more correct, because I assure you the machine pumping out a thousand pieces of expensive chocolate’s doesn’t care one bit if I smiled while eating each delicious morsel. For me, Knowing that the artist who sold the handmade item is wondering if I love their design and wonder if I see the emotion and beauty in it as they did when creating it speaks volumes.

Supporting handmade is clearly a sane and sound choice for me, and I hope that once you are done reading this you may see it is a wonderful choice for you to embrace as well.

As always, wishing each of you a beautiful weekend ahead,
Peace, Love & Hippie Chic Jewelz
HCJ 2012

3 thoughts on “Why is handmade so expensive?

Leave a Reply

