Meet Cody Rutty, a Phenomenal Abstract Artist!

Happy Friday everyone! To add to the Awesomeness of the day, I have a great treat for you! I had a chance to interview a wonderful artist whose work is nothing short of phenomenal. I was truly captivated by this artists work, the fine detail and range of artistic talent has left me most awe inspired!
Meet Cody Rutty, I am sure you will find his work as fascinating and spell binding as I do!

What is the name of your shop and link?

Cody Rutty: My work is on my website, http://www.codyruttyart.com, and in a more interactive sense on my Facebook fan page: Cody Rutty

How has your experience been on online as an artist?

Cody Rutty: Well, for years nothing really happened (laughs). I had built a website that was probably only visited by spiders and bots. With a little social media and doing more shows, however, the online experience is really coming alive, and a majority of sales come from web traffic, which is fantastic.

What has been your most exciting moment online?
Cody Rutty: Recently I received a PayPal notification email that someone living in Japan had bought two fairly large pieces. That was a great feeling. Shipping art to Japan is a nice first.

Do you have any advice for new artists in your area of creativity?
Cody Rutty: I do. Even though I’m not an expert, I would suggest diversifying your work load, meaning have an armada of work ranging from quick drawings to elaborate in-depth pieces. This will not only give you a range of output to produce but a solid trailing equity accessible to those interested in your work.

How long have you been an artist?
Cody Rutty: My mom used to tell me that I was fairly obsessed with drawing, couldn’t stop me, and that hasn’t really changed, besides adding paint to the equation. I think most artists would answer “my whole life” to this question, and that’s a pretty fair response, accurate. But when I was about 15-16 I started really producing paintings as they were, artifacts of work. So as far as production? About 12 years. I’m still very new.

Who or what had the greatest influence on you as you developed as an artist?
Cody Rutty: Beside the thousands of incredible visual artists in the library, I’ve been fascinated by the work of Edward Lorenz, Benoit Mandelbrot, then Felix Hausdorff and Waclaw Sierpinksi. Their works inspire me in a very major way. Since I picked up The Fractal Geometry of Nature freshman year in high school my work has always seen influence by these great minds.

How would you characterize your work?
Cody Rutty: This is a question that never gets easier with practice (laughs). I get asked this a lot over, say, dinner or meeting new people. I usually say that my work is abstract and leave it at that. When all is said and done, I think that’s how my work appears to most.

How do you feel when people interpret your artwork differently?
Cody Rutty: When they interpret the work disparately than how I envision it, that difference is very valuable. It’s sort of an inevitability with my work. When I start to interpolate the varying views from a few reactions, a strange, topological shape starts to form in my head from the different vantages. I like it. It’s fascinating and gives strange volume to a static image.

Describe your workshop/studio for us:
Cody Rutty: Right now I’m working out of a fairly small room at home. I have another room for storage and a garage with a wood shop. They’re all pretty scattered and blended together. This may change soon, I’m looking at warehouse space.

What’s the hardest part of being an artist?
Innately, I think artists have higher highs and lower lows, and this up and down velocity can be wearing. Sometimes the hardest part is keeping the faith, and other times the hardest part is trying not to explode form excitement (laughs).

How many hours a day do you create?
Cody Rutty: On any given work day, 6-10 is pretty common. 0-24 is also fairly common.

How does creating art make you feel?
Cody Rutty: Creating art makes me feel like I’m part of something good. So many writers, musicians, artists of all kinds know this feeling. It’s a feeling of worth and value, and a feeling of triumph over the more banal and mundane daily routines. If I didn’t create art, conversely, I think I’d try to surround myself with it regardless.

“What is Art?” is certainly too big of a question to ask here, but what do you hope your audience takes away from your art? What statement do you hope to make?

Cody Rutty: I’ve always enjoyed watching people look at art, mine or others’. It can be very solemn the way a person regards art. I hope that those who have my art on their walls take away something original, something that no other little rectangle elicits in them. What that is, who knows. I’ve had such varying feedback. As far as statements are concerned, I hope that the better my art becomes, the more it says ‘this is worth it, creating art is worthwhile, do it.’ I could really bore you with my personal intellectualisms (laughs).

What are your artistic goals?
Cody Rutty: Well I’ve been fortunate enough to never run out of ideas. Perhaps when this happens, I’ll be able to answer this question better (laughs). But I reckon the goal is to produce a lot before I’m too old or dead.

How have you handled the business side of being an artist?
Cody Rutty: I’m getting better, slowly. Something about money and art has always seemed mutually exclusive, but bills and money seem to go hand in hand. So if you’re looking to pay the bills with art, the business side is very immediate and important. I do believe one of the worst feelings is being desperate for money and practically giving your art away. It’s part of the process and ultimately your art is in someone’s home. Over time, I think your work will find its own way.

Where else on the Internet can we find your work?
Cody Rutty:

I’d say ‘like’ my Facebook fan page: From there I have my other nodes (laughs).

Cody, thank you for sharing your AMAZING artwork with us, it was truly a pleasure getting to interview you!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Meet Cody Rutty, a Phenomenal Abstract Artist!

Leave a Reply

