Meet Penny from Blings N Things

Today I had the pleasure of interviewing not only a talented jewelry artist and crafter, but also one of my top team leaders and truly wonderful friend! Penny’s items are fun and sassy, from her jewelry peices to trinket boxes her designs are a must have!

1. How long have you been an artist?
I have been into crafting for as long as I can remember. I was always drawing, doodling, creating all through school and at home for as long as I can remember. I was always in an art class of one kind or another. I took basic art, sewing, wood shop, metal shop, drafting, photography, clay and tole painting, to name a few.

2. Who or what had the greatest influence in you as you developed as an artist?
I would have to give credit to my grandmother (avid sewer, home DIY, gardener and more) my Nonna, (taught me to crochet the basics) and mostly my Mom. We are always doing something. She has taught me so many different craft or learned along with me. It is not uncommon for us to take a scrapbook class, beading class or anything that we get the urge to do. We’ve even built a green house while my dad was out of town & taught ourselves how to use the nail gun! (so much fun)

3. What has been your most exciting moment as an artist?
I was so excited just to open up a shop and having the confidence in myself to do it. My first sale was really exciting, also; as are all sales after! It makes you feel really good as an artist!

4. What are your artist goals?
I always love learning and growing as an artist. Being fairly new to jewelry making (three or so years) I’m having fun doing something that I started doing as physical therapy for my hands after being told by my therapist that is was good therapy.
As soon as I can I want to take a jewelry making class & learn the art of lost wax. I would also love to take a “glass” class, it is so intriguing to me.

5. What are your goals?
I would love to have enough sales to support my crafting “habit”. It would be really fabulous (and far fetched) if I ever had enough to quit my 40 hr/wk job.. 🙂

Penny, thank you so much for all the hard work you do and for taking the time to let me interview you!

Leave a Reply

