Meet Stacey the artist from Bringing Sunshine on Etsy

Challenge Winner – BringingSunshine!
Meet Stacey From BringingSunshine! She won the Treasury Challenge this past week. I had the opportunity to learn a little more about the artist behind the awesome Treasury, and now I am going to share her interview with you! Enjoy!

Tell us your personal name, business name, website and location.
Stacey Rostek, Bringing Sunshine, http://www.bringingsunshine.etsy.com, http://www.bringingsunshine1.blogspot.com, Chesapeake, VA

What is your studio or workspace like, and how do you work in your studio?
I have been very fortunate that my husband allowed our 3rd bedroom to become my studio. The funny thing is that my dog doesn’t like sleeping anywhere else. So I used some creativity and turned his crate into more table space for me to work on 🙂

How would you describe and think of your style, what kind of handmade items do you make and what type of materials do you prefer?
I guess my style would be girly, colorful, happy, positive….hence the name “Bringing Sunshine” I do mostly paper goods, paint, wood, and crochet. So the items that have come out of that so far have been cards, paintings, puzzles, bags, and blankets. I also have some bracelets on there because I was given some old squares of leather by someone who was going to throw them out…so the bracelets are a limited time offer! They stop when the free leather runs out. 🙂

What new directions do you hope to move in the future?
Well I am pretty new to all of this. So really just getting more involved/established on Etsy. And also getting into the local craft fair circuit. I have done one so far and really liked it.

Do you have big plans, new ideas or designs you will be exploring soon?
Always 🙂 I am going to be making a business facebook page in the next couple of days so everyone reading this should go like it! I am also working on a couple more products. They will all stay in the paper goods, painting on wood, and crochet genres. But I am actually going to be adding some journals in the next couple of days that I am excited about.

What is your typical day like?
Well, about two days a week I work in a friend’s cupcake shop, which is really fun. But the other days a week I work in my studio all morning til 1. Then I do any errands, cleaning, appointments that need to be done. And then if I have any time later that night I get back in the studio.

How do you work during the day in your studio, and what keeps you inspired and motivated?
I normally turn on Friends (I have all the seasons) for some background noise. Then before I start I have to make sure I have a clean workspace…so I clean up a little. And then I do whatever is on my to-do list for that day (I am an extreme list maker), whether it be creating or getting on the computer for marketing purposes. What keeps me motivated is looking at craft magazines, going on craft websites, pinterest, etc. Seeing other people’s excitement for crafting gets me excited.

Who are and are your mentors and inspirations?
I wouldn’t say that I really have any artistic mentors. Although, my friend from college and fellow STATTEAM member, Rachel Kimrey, has been really successful on Etsy. She would be the one I would go to for Etsy advice, and she is the one who recommended I join STATTEAM! The biggest inspiration for me is nature. I guess when I see God’s creation it makes me want to create.

I noticed you work with many medias, do you create one piece from start to finish, or do you create various components and then the piece grows to completion separately?
A little of both. The bigger things I create from start to finish, the smaller things I will line all up and do one step on all of them, then another step on all of them, etc.

Are there things that you enjoy and do often without putting it off, and other things that aren’t your favorite and you delay doing them?
I don’t necessarily enjoy the online marketing type of things facebooking, tweeting, discussion forums, etc) as much as I just love creating. But I don’t put it off because I know it needs to be done to be successful!

What sort of things do you prefer making and creating, what comes easily to you?
I love creating with found objects. It saves money, is environmentally friendly, and helps me stay creative. Its why you will probably always see a wide variety of pieces in my shop. I love creating something out of what could be thrown out. Whether its buttons that fell off of something, old clothes, or a cardboard box…I will find some way to make it new and pretty.

What are the things you consider most important to do for your business and your creativity?
I think establishing an online presence is extremely important for any business. Surrounding myself with other artsy people, whether face to face, online, or through a magazine is essential for my creativity.

What would you recommend for others Etsians who may just be getting started?
Haha…this question is funny because I am one of those people. I didn’t actively start using Etsy until about a month ago. But one thing that I know, that is the biggest thing I would recommend, is that you can’t just list your items, leave them, and expect to be successful. You really have to be involved on Etsy and online in general. You have to join teams, discussions, blogs, facebook, twitter, etc and be active to be successful on Etsy. Which is why I admire anyone that can do that plus have a full time job!

Leave a Reply

