Meet Elsbet from Elsbetart on Etsy

Today on my Etsy treasury team “STATTEAM” we have Elsbetsart in the spotlight, here is her lovely interview! ENJOY!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



What is the name of your Etsy shop and link?

– I created a simple name similar to my own: elsbetsart.com. I am Elsbet (from Germany) creating art or something like that.

How long have you been an artist?
– What is an artist? -I made my works since my childhood in many different techniques, some shown in exhibitions and sold. At that time I was member of an artist-group. Always creating art was one aspect of my life.
2005 my family told me there is much time to try it again and I need time for my paintings! I took out my very good old watercolors and wonderful papers and that was the new beginning.

Who or what had the greatest influence on you as you developed as an artist?
– Some people observed my creations more than me. They told me I had to learn more about painting. I was always interested in music and art and I loved singing more than drawing.

How would you characterize your work?

– There is a lot of ideas. It’s my personal dealing with art, fine art, special styles and live!

Describe your workshops for us.

– My workshop?- For the last years I have recently an atelier at home with some easels and where my paintings also can dry.

What’s the hardest part of being an artist?

– I think it’s making art as I want it and nobody is interested in. Or for me: I have a painting well done but not ready. I have to practice special techniques before going on.

What’s next in your art career?
– I want to find a group to work together and of course selling paintings!

How many hours a day do you create?
– I am working in time blocks, some days and some days not.

How does creating art make you feel?
– When I made a painting I don’t know if it is well or not. I have to wait and the egg tempera has to dry – perfectly! When I am sure its ready it get varnished.

How do you recharge when your creativity hits the wall?

– I cook some good things for me and my husband and after getting complements from him I have recharged and continue.

“What is Art?” is certainly too big of a question to ask here, but what do you hope your audience takes away from your art? What statement do you hope to make?
What gives you hope in the world?

Paul Klee said: Kunst gibt nichts Sichtbares wieder, Kunst macht sichtbar.
I try to translate: Art does not show you what you see, art makes visible.
He did not paint what you can look at, but something behind or included in.

What are your artistic goals?

– Create a good painting! I have a lot of goals but I can’t really tell you which is the most important.

What has your experience as an artist been like on Etsy?
– I am new on Etsy between very kind members of a great network.

What has been your most exciting moment as an artist here on Etsy?
The increasing interest on my paintings!

How have you handled the business side of being an artist?
– I am here only for a short time and try to build my own little network. I have large items and same prices are true so I have to wait for a sale. A great help are the shop-stats. Someone can find me if he likes.

What advice can you give new artists on Etsy?
I am new myself using all helps of the community I am finding!

Where else on the internet can we find your work besides Etsy?
I am a painter with a lot of paintings. I opened the Etsy shop to find out more about the quality of my paintings compared to others. Next will be a website with a blog.
You can find me now on Twitter and facebook.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/elsbetsart/125211220911606

Follow me on twitter.com/#!/elsbetsart

Thank you for inviting me to the Spotlight

Elsbet with elsbetsart

Leave a Reply

