My interview with Lindsay Maree, the artist behind LindsayMareeJewelry

Tonight I have a treat for you, an interview with LindsayMareeeJewelry on Etsy, so get comfortable and enjoy this wonderful post!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


How long have you been an artist?
I have been creating art ever since I can remember. It was always my favorite subject in school as a kid and I entered many competitions in elementary through high school. It’s always been a great outlet for me emotionally and have always been encouraged by my family to continue creating.

Tell us about your first attempts to be creative.

Art has always been something that I’ve done simply because I enjoy it. After I graduated high school, I wasn’t exactly sure what I wanted to do for the rest of my life, so I took classes in college that looked interesting, Drawing 1 being among them. I fell in love with everything new I was learning in Drawing 1 and received high marks on every project. It wasn’t until then that I started trying to take art a little more seriously, using new materials and experimenting with techniques I wasn’t familiar with.

How many hours a day do you create?
I usually spend 2-3 hours creating per day. I use it as a way to wind down after a long day of work.

How does creating art make you feel?
Creating art makes me feel accomplished. I like the release of getting to do something physical with my hands. Whether the energy comes from happiness, sadness, anger, or excitement, anything that has been created is a beautiful release of emotion.

How did you pick your creative medium?
I chose to make jewelry because I had never tried it before. I knew that I enjoyed drawing and painting, but I was never particularly fond of working with 3 dimensional objects. With 3D art, I have had problems completing a thought well enough to successfully execute a project. It was always a frustrating medium to work with, so I thought, why not? I like the challenge.

What are your inspirations?
Right now, I’m inspired by food, patterns, and love.

How do you recharge when your creativity hits the wall?

I recharge by taking a look at other artist’s work. It’s refreshing to see what others are creating and how my items differ. I love looking at very technical and specifically designed pieces of art because it helps me refocus my less technical and more free flowing art.

“What is Art?” is certainly too big of a question to ask here, but what do you hope your audience takes away from your art? What statement do you hope to make?
What gives you hope in the world?

To me, art is expression. By looking at my jewelry, I hope people see it and think about how it applies to them. I hope they ask themselves first if the piece is particularly pleasing to the eye. If so, how they will apply it to their life. Will they wear these earrings simply because they’ll go with a specific outfit, or will they wear them because it makes them feel like their expressing themselves? For instance, what does the color yellow mean to you? Does it evoke happiness? Does it speak to you about a particular season? Does it remind you of your mother’s favorite color? All of your answers to those questions causes some sort of emotion, and wearing my creations is an expression of that emotion.

What are your artistic goals?

My goals are simple. I just want to make someone feel something. If they like my jewelry, then it makes them feel good. Consequently, if they hate it, then it makes them feel disgusted. Someone stopping what they’re doing for 5 seconds to take a peek at my work means I’ve done my job. I’ve created something that has caused a person to think, even if just for a moment.

What has been your most exciting moment as an artist?
The most exciting moment was after I “dropped out” of college and realized that I didn’t need a degree to tell me that I could create art, and be good at it. The self realization (with a little help from my fiance) that I could indeed teach myself how to create art has been an eye opening experience. It’s pushed aside the creative block I had for 5 years and forced me to just dive in. It’s been an exciting journey, being able to do what I love every day.

How have you handled the business side of being an artist?
I have just started pursuing the business side of being an artist. Until a few months ago, I hadn’t even thought about trying to make money off of my items. It has been an adventure for me, learning the ins and outs of selling something that I have put my soul into.

What has your experience as an artist been like on Etsy?

My experience has been positive so far. I have yet to encounter anything negative, honestly. Etsy has made it easy for me to start up my little business. I really love that I can communicate with fellow artists and have made a few friends. Having one place to meet other artists, as well as taking a look at their work is refreshing. Everyone is so kind and willing to offer advice. My first couple months here have been wonderful.

What advice can you give new artists on Etsy?
The small amount of success I’ve had so far on Etsy is simply because I have put myself out there and introduced myself. I’ve joined Teams, taken part in BNS/BNRs, and haven’t been afraid to ask questions.

Where else on the internet can we find your work besides Etsy?
I’m on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/lindsaymareejewelry
I’m on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/#!/lindsay_maree
And I have a blog: lindsaymareejewelry.blogspot.com

7 thoughts on “My interview with Lindsay Maree, the artist behind LindsayMareeJewelry

Leave a Reply

