My interview with CaliBrooklynDesigns on Etsy

Today I am interviewing CaliBrooklynDesigns on Etsy, she had a day in the STATTEAM Spotlight yesterday. Her shop if full of delightful accessories that are sure to make you smile!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


How long have you been an artist?
I would say all my life but I really hit up the bead scene about 12 years ago

Tell us about your first attempts to be creative.

Other than that painting I did when I was 1 year old…LOL…My Mom turned me on to stitching, sewing, crocheting and tole painting when I was in Jr. High

How many hours a day do you create?

Gee, kind of comes in waves. Since I teach, summer, and holidays are my prime times…how I wish it could be daily.

How does creating art make you feel?

I get a fulfilled feeling…I may have made something that I will never post but that I made it, and that I can take 100% credit for it, whether fantastic or flop, it just feels good to know that it is something that came from my hands.

How did you pick your creative medium?

I guess I have the cliche “starving college student” story, but I have always had an eye for detail and lots of color and beading has all that rolled into one

What are your inspirations?

Just about anything…I like different cultures, multi-color, classic, chic, and different…all those things come at me at once and I pluck what is most impressionable and go from there

How do you recharge when your creativity hits the wall?
I actually like to watch a lot of cooking shows and the colors I will see in foods may spark me to want to design something after that food. As many will notice in my shop, a lot of my items have names that are closely connected to edible items! LOL

“What is Art?” is certainly too big of a question to ask here, but what do you hope your audience takes away from your art? What statement do you hope to make?
What gives you hope in the world?

Wow, well I guess I hope that when people see my work, they see that it is a piece that was made with many things in mind that was designed exclusively for them…if that makes sense. Basically, my pieces are designed for anyone and everyone, I make because I can and I like to add a twist to call my own and if you appreciate that’s great, if not, my Mother will get it for a Christmas, Mother’s Day, or Birthday gift cause she likes ALL of it! LOL

What are your artistic goals?
Artistic goals: One day to actually make jewelry from scratch, whether that means going into metal smithing, designing a glass bead, or anything that can allow me to legitimately say that “I MADE THIS WHOLE THING”
My husband’s goal for me: to be able to do this full time cause I seem to be a more whole person


What has been your most exciting moment as an artist?

Most exciting was being able to wait last minute to get wedding jewelry for myself, when it dawns on me “Hey! I can make it myself” LOL the little things…

How have you handled the business side of being an artist?
I am really trying to grasp the business side. I opened my shop in April of 2010 and not until this summer did I really put myself out there. Etsy makes it rather easy but I haven’t grasped a dollar amount that I must commit in order to really see my shop take off, but in all honesty, it’s not about the money, it’s about the creativitiy.
What has your experience as an artist been like on Etsy?

What advice can you give new artists on Etsy?

Reach out to others that share in your craft…if I have learned anything in education that can be bridged over to crafting, beg and borrow. True crafters have a sharing heart and will have no problem helping you out. Also, suck it up and spend that full night on Etsy and just hunt and look around, there are tips and treasures around every corner!

Where else on the internet can we find your work besides Etsy?
Etsy is the only spot. I have photos on Flickr and my FB page but Etsy is where the shop is.

Leave a Reply

