Meet Shelly from Shellyka on Etsy

Todays interview is with Shelly from Shellyka on Etsy, Shelly not only has some adorable items in her shop but has been the winner of the STATTEAM Saturday Treasury Challenge. Grab a cup of Java or tea and enjoy this delightful interview!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How long have you been an artist?
I loved drawing and painting since I can remember myself but after my first son was born I really decided to concentrate in my love for art and after receiving good feedbacks from friends and family the idea of opening a business was born.

Tell us about your first attempts to be creative.
I started to decorate my son’s nursery when I was pregnant with him. This was the first real attempt to be creative and the first time I exposed my art to people and got really good feedbacks.

How many hours a day do you create? At the beginning I spent most of my day time creating and developing new ideas for children’s rooms. Lately I think it is around 4-5 hours a day and in the rest of it I’m looking for promotion places and other websites that can help increase the exposure of my shop and products.

How does creating art make you feel? Oh, that’s easy!! This is my most favorite part and it takes me to my safety place where I feel good and I can use my imagination and creativity using colors and textures that I love.

How did you pick your creative medium?
Usually I work with the same medium that I feel comfortable with, but sometimes in my craft’s shop stroll, I love to explore some more materials. Basically I chose what I like the most, which is painting on canvas and wood.

What are your inspirations?
My biggest Inspiration is my children and I have to admit that they inspire me so much!! They tell me what they love best, we are creating new stories together and I always get surprised with their wonderful imagination that gives me many fantastic ideas\that will take me years to create.

How do you recharge when your creativity hits the wall?
I do something else; there are plenty of other things that need to be done such as Marketing my stuff or ordering from the suppliers. Because I’m working from my home, I can also do something useful like cleaning. It is defiantly helps recharge my creativity.

“What is Art?” is certainly too big of a question to ask here, but what do you hope your audience takes away from your art? What statement do you hope to make?
What gives you hope in the world?

As you said this is a really “big” question but in my opinion Art is most wonderful and joyful way to express love, creativity and feelings.
I think that creativity is the only thing that comes out from people without even wanting it (you can’t control it….). It can connect people in so many levels that you didn’t realize that it will. I find it so beautiful that people can understand and get emotional without using any words.

What are your artistic goals?
I want to develop my skills and to learn more about other mediums, I want to open a craft class and teach art and of course that I want to make a good living from my art.

What has been your most exciting moment as an artist?

I can’t pick one moment, but every time I get a lovely feedback from my clients I get really happy.

How have you handled the business side of being an artist?
Marketing my products is very hard for me but I keep learning all the time and I try my best to get to meet as many people, websites and other places that can help me with this task. I’m learning to enjoy it and I dedicate at least 3 hours a day to help my shop reach to the next level (I hope that more exposure will mean more sales!!).
What has your experience as an artist been like on Etsy?
I’m addicted to my shop, I love the “Etsy experience” and I learn a lot from it. Running a business on Etsy isn’t easy but there are many great advantages like meeting amazing people and artists and being a part of supporting groups/teams. I think that opening a shop was a great decision for me as this medium really suits me and I enjoy doing it very much.

What advice can you give new artists on Etsy?
I’m sure they heard it before but there are no short cuts so: work hard, don’t despair, meet other Etsy sellers and learn from their experience, read a lot and love what you’re doing!

Where else on the internet can we find your work besides Etsy?
I have a face book fan page: http://www.facebook.com/kishkushelly
And you can follow me on twitter:
twitter.com/#!/shellykadesigns

2 thoughts on “Meet Shelly from Shellyka on Etsy

Leave a Reply

