My interview with DRAGONPOP on Etsy

Tonight I have a special treat for you, an interview with Christy, the delightful artist behind DragonPop on Etsy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How long have you been an artist?
As long as I can remember. I started out drawing when I was very young.

Tell us about your first attempts to be creative.

I used to do sketches of my favorite rock bands 🙂

How many hours a day do you create?
Every minute I get the chance! In all honesty it varies. Some days I’m lucky to eek out an hour or two.

How does creating art make you feel?
Like I’ve found my “purpose”. I’ve never been so at peace with any other thing I’ve ever done.

How did you pick your creative medium?
A lot of happy accidents I guess. I love trying anything new. If my creative interest is sparked I almost can’t sleep until I’ve attempted whatever new thing I’ve discovered. Sometimes it’s not so good. And then there are those happy accidents 🙂

What are your inspirations?
Well my kids inspire me to keep trying. Even when I become unsure of myself I give myself a kick in the seat of the pants and remember that this is my means of being able to stay home and be with them.

Artistically I’m inspired by those that make the big statements in art or fashion. Love Betsy Johnson!

How do you recharge when your creativity hits the wall?
I pray and remember all of the things in life for which I am so truly blessed. The thoughts that are gumming up the works so to speak just melt away and I feel refreshed and filled with ideas.

“What is Art?” is certainly too big of a question to ask here, but what do you hope your audience takes away from your art? What statement do you hope to make?

F U N!!! I definitely want to bring out people’s more playful side. Life’s too short to be so serious. That’s why I like the wilder prints or the over-sized jewelry 🙂 Even if a person looks at my work and rolls their eyes, at least I got them to look!

What are your artistic goals?
I’d like to work on my branding for sure. I feel I’ve been kind of lucky in that I have a good start in a short period of time. But I have a ways to go.

What has been your most exciting moment as an artist?

One of my favorite moments was when I was invited to be on this team 🙂

How have you handled the business side of being an artist?
I try to be very professional in a very personal way. I want people to know that they can trust me in business dealings but that I’m a real person with whom they can interact and joke around.

What has your experience as an artist been like on Etsy?
Surprising! Never expected to find so many friendships. Like I said before. I am so blessed.

What advice can you give new artists on Etsy?

Stay true to your vision. Once you start a shop it’s easy to forget why you started it. You may become tempted to stray from your art in the interest of becoming more commercial to sell more. I mean we all want to sell more! Just don’t stray from that which distinguishes you from the pack. Don’t lose your flavor.

Where else on the internet can we find your work besides Etsy?

I have a Facebook fan page:

http://www.facebook.com/#!/dragonpop.trendz

2 thoughts on “My interview with DRAGONPOP on Etsy

Leave a Reply

