Meet Denise Cooper from The Journey Accents on Etsy

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Who are you and what do you do?
I am Denise Cooper , the mother of two wonderful young men, grandmother of 4 beautiful young ladies, from a very small community in North East Texas. I work as the office manager / HR manager for a mechanical contractor.

Where can we find you besides on Etsy?

I have two shops on Etsy (TheJourneyAccents and JazzyWreathsInTexas) and I also have a booth on Bonanza.com (Best Little Wreath House in Texas), Zibbett.com (TheJourneyAccents), and Facebook (TheJourneyAccents). I have also just begun to try my hand at Ebay, but the jury is still out on that.

What inspired you to become an artist?
I’m not sure what inspired me to become an artist. As long as I can remember I have sketched, painted, and done floral design. It’s not something I planned to do, it’s just something I have to do.

Why is it important to support handmade?
Handmade supports the individual and encourages entrepreneurship. Handmade also fosters creativity. Who wants to live in a cookie cutter world if you don’t have to?

What’s integral to the work of an artist?
Time! Time is the most precious commodity for me. I wish I could just practice my art and learn more skill, but the ‘day’ job gets in the way.

What role does the artist have in society?
I believe artist in society help others think out of the box. Artist helps the imagination to soar.

What art do you most identify with?
Oil painting

What work do you most enjoying doing?

Home decorating

Describe a real-life situation that inspired you?

I began working on crafts and floral design mostly to give as gifts. When I was first on my own, I didn’t have much extra money for gifts, but I could create a large beautiful door wreath for my family as a Christmas gift, so that’s what I did.

What jobs have you done other than being an artist?
Legal secretary, substitute teacher, office manager, farm hand

What is your artistic outlook on life?
I think artist should look into their mind’s eye and create what they see there and look into their heart and create what they feel there.

What is your dream project?
To decorate a house from top to bottom with a huge budget.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?
To take a negative feedback with a grain of salt and just continue to do your best for your customers.

What advice would you give new Etsians?

Be ready to dedicate a lot of time on promoting your shop. Advertise, advertise, advertise!

List five of your favorite Etsy shops:
AlteredHead, KitchenCarvings , ruraloriginals , andybartosjr , and staceyyacula. It’s very hard to choose only five. I am constantly amazed at the fantastic art available on Etsy.com

Leave a Reply

