Why buy handmade?

Why buy handmade? I have asked some of Etsy’s most talented artists on why as consumers we should buy “HANDMADE”, what you read will not only make sense, but put into practice can make a huge difference not only in the economy, but also for the enviorment.

The main reason that I choose to buy handmade is simple, Buying handmade is better for the environment, plain and simple. The accumulating environmental effects of mass production being a major cause of global warming and the poisoning of our air, water and soil. Every item you make or purchase from a small-scale independent artist or crafter strikes a small blow to the forces of mass production. To me, its just an enviromentaly sound choice.

Here is what KelliWorthDesigns from Etsy said about buying handmade:

I made a conscious decision a couple years ago to only shop and eat local. I am a locavore!!! In turn I also believe that anything handmade by a fellow artisan is still…local! We are all a community in and of ourselves. Buy local and handmade….hormone free, free range….lolol

tarnishedandtrue on Etsy had this to say about buying handmade:

Because Handmade is the most unique and beautiful! I am so sick and tired of commercial product. Blah, Target, etc…blah! And….thrifting is not what it used to be with everyone and their dog combing through the stores! So…the only way to find truly unique items is to buy handmade these days.

When I asked Junkitlove from Etsy why she chooses handmade:

Because I refuse to believe the whole population of the world is a sheep, we all need something that ‘talks’ to us and us alone, buying handmade makes that possible. Because as much as possible and when we can afford to, handmade is an ethical choice, often (not always) when wer’e buying mass produced we are funding sweatshops.
I want people to buy MY handmade because I want to buy my family a house, because I want to always be able to work doing what I love, because I would go horribly mad in a bad way if I wasn’t able to create and know someone somewhere is getting pleasure or joy out of something I have made, just for them.

Kearl on Etsy had this to say:

Because it reminds you that EVERYTHING from supplies to finished products is there because of real human beings with lives and families who deserve fair pay for their work. Think globally, act locally and you will see the difference your dollars can make. Because a unique, handmade gift is incredibly meaningful. The giver had to look carefully through thousands of items for that special item that said “I must belong to the person you love, please bring us together!”

Here is what mojo3777creations on Etsy has to say about supporting handmade:

I love to buy handmade because it is more personal. I like the connection I feel with the artist who actually made the item I am purchasing. I know my item has been made with love and it gives me the opportunity to connect with an individual through their art. You can learn a lot about a person through their art.

One thought on “Why buy handmade?

Leave a Reply

