Keeping it Weird

Have any of you ever read the Etsy pages of KEEP IT WEIRD? Well, this month I have created a challenge for my Etsy team “STAT TEAM”

****************August Snakeskin/Reptile Skin Challenge**************

My team members were challenged to create an item for their Etsy shop that includes either snakeskin or another reptile skin.
My first contestant entry came from DragonPop:
Rainbow Serpent Poppyrock Ring
My inspiration for this simple yet classy little ring was one of my favorite flowers, the poppy. This is one of my favorite looks I’ve created. I was trying to simulatehe reflective quality of snakeskin done my way 🙂 I used striking jewel tones in the flower and in the crystal I chose for the center. It is set on a lead-free, silver-plated, adjustable ring base. The diameter of the face is 1 1/2″.
*This ring base, though adjustable, is a more comfortable fit for a slender ring size. I would not try to wear it larger than a 7 1/2 or 8.


Rainbow Serpent Poppyrock Ring
My inspiration for this simple yet classy little ring was one of my favorite flowers, the poppy. This is one of my favorite looks I’ve created. I was trying to simulate the reflective quality of snakeskin done my way 🙂 I used striking jewel tones in the flower and in the crystal I chose for the center. It is set on a lead-free, silver-plated, adjustable ring base. The diameter of the face is 1 1/2″.

The next entry was submitted by yours truly…. me… HippieChicJewelz:

Chinese Dragon and Hot Pink Snakeskin Bracelet
I created this wooden bangle bracelet first with multiple layers of hot pink snakeskin textured paper, I sculpted a dragon from black polymer clay and added green and gold mica powder for depth, the dragons eye is a small, glass handmade chevron bead.

As a finishing touch I added Jet Black and Clear rhinestones. Inner diameter is 2 5/8″. Medium Size

This particular piece is unique and unusual, bright and gorgeous a conversation starter!
This is a one of a kind creation, if you like this bracelet I can custom create one similar for you. This would make a fantastic gift, or as a special gift to oneself!

The next entry was submitted by JohnnieBelinda:
Unique snake shed no 2 pendant
2 1/4 dia. mixed media pendant OOAK handmade unique one of a kind. Naturally shed snake skin mounted on a wood base. Hand formed casing . Has been coated in a protected sealant, is water resistant not 100 percent water proof.
Makes a perfect unisex gift, for women and who love tribal,animal print,snakes and being unique in there style
I have been collecting sheds for several years, some found and some purchased thru etsyshops. My friends and family think it’s weird, but i a nuture girl spending hours roaming in nearby woods and fields. Finding bones turtle shells, teeth and arrow heads.
I am a bit squimish when it comes to snakes, but i love the beauty of the sheds, diamonds and texture .

The next entry was submitted by BlackFridayStudio

Cobra Indiana Jones Snake Skin for the STATTEAM Keep it Weird Reptile Skin Challenge

Print measures 8×10 inches and was created using Kodak Gloss Photo Paper.
All 8×10 prints are matted and in a cello sleeve.

The next entry was submitted by BlackFridayStudio
Paper mache skull painted with snakeskin pattern. Sealed with matte finish.
Skull is slightly larger than a softball.

The next entry was submitted by TableTopJewels


“Slithering my way into your heart.”

This all occasion, blank white greeting card is embellished with hand crocheted motifs. The motif is crocheted with fine gauge cotton thread, size 10 and affixed to a reptilian design card stock.
The card measures 5 x7 and could easily fit into a standard frame. A great idea, give the empty frame as a gift with the greeting card as a gift tag!
The card includes the TableTopJewel shop information on the back and hand signed and dated.
The card ships in a clear archival photo sleeve.

The next entry was submitted by KuhlWhip

“Mermaid Cove” alcohol free moisturizing hair and body spray 2 oz in a cobalt blue glass spray bottle.

Sometimes Mermaids discretely come up from the deep to lounge on warm, soft, moss covered rocks, and bathe in the sun in a gorgeous floral vine covered cove.
They sing their special songs, and watch Sailors pass on their great wooden ships, and giggle as the Sailors wonder where the songs are coming from. Never seen, nor discovered, no one will ever know…Their secret forever safe in the Cove. Mermaid Cove fragrance has been made with a heady blend of Wisteria, Lilac, & Frangipani, followed by lush green Oakmoss, and Ocean aquatic notes.
The Body Sprays are made with an Alcohol free, moisturizing base and can be sprayed on both the body and the hair but, are not meant to be sprayed on clothing.

5 thoughts on “Keeping it Weird

Leave a Reply

