Meet Tylerja AKA JAT ART on Etsy

Meet Jessica aka Tylerja from JAT*ART

Saturday’s Treasury Challenge featured some very lovely treasuries, but one stood out above all the rest. It was curated by the very talented Jessica from JAT*ART. Grab a cup of Java or tea and indulge in a fascinating interview!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


What is the first thing that usually comes to your mind first thing in the morning?
“THANK YOU FOR ANOTHER BEAUTIFUL DAY” and I try to think something positive about my life and my many blessings before I put my feet on the ground and start my day 🙂

What are some fun facts about you that may or may not be directly related to your art?
I’m planning to write a children’s book and illustrate it myself. I wrote it over a year ago but haven’t created my “art” for it yet 🙂

What is the strangest or funniest comment or question you’ve ever gotten about your work?
I made my little cousin a “cowl scarf” for Christmas and when I spoke to her mom after the holidays she said “Emilie loves the hat you knit her” She had apparently been wearing it as a turban…all I could say was “Hell yeah! Rock it!” I love that about creating things…people make them their own 🙂

What term would you use to describe your creative talent:
Thankful.

Why is it you see yourself in this way?
I’m so very thankful to have art as a way to express myself and thankful for my God-given talents. My creations come from the happiness that comes from being blessed and thankful!

How did you begin with this creative process and how does it add to your life?
I’ve been creating all my life in one way or another…it’s a part of me and it’s definitely enriched my life. I’m so thankful that I can express myself in creative ways and that others can relate to me through my work!


Were you creative before this time? If so, what other creative arts do/did you dabble in?

I’ve been an “artsy fartsy” kid my entire life; Theatre, Art, Music, Writing…the works.


Can you remember the first creation that you made?

Thanks to my mom I can…I don’t remember creating it but luckily my mom kept ALL of my art and I have my very first finger painting 🙂 Thankful for a mother who appreciates creativity even at its simplest form.

Is there something else that you made that you are particularly proud of?
I did a mixed media piece back in high school that I’m rather proud of. The piece earned me a scholarship to SCAD and the 2nd Congressional Art Award. It was on display in the Capitol Building in DC for a year and now it hangs in my mother’s dining room…she’s pretty proud of it too.

Do you have a particular customer (on or off the internet) that you remember particularly well for good reasons?
Katt from Black Friday Studios has been so supportive of my work! She has purchased a few items and continually helps me out in BNRs and with exposure. She rocks!

Have you ever created an online tutorial or video? Would you share it with us and has it helped your Etsy business?
I haven’t created a tutorial video yet…actually, the only video I have on my comp. is of my dog spinning in cirlces…doubt that you guys would benefit from that 🙂 even if it is hilarious!

What are the three websites you couldn’t live without?
This is a TOUGH one! I would be able to live without them all but these are my favorites for sure!
http://www.etsy.com… of course
http://www.facebook.com
http://www.postsecret.com ….if you’re not already addicted to this site like me…check it out every Sunday and you will be 🙂


When you have a quiet moment to indulge yourself and there’s no one around to bother you, what is it you like to do best?

Drink tea and read or if I’m in a creative mood I’ll paint!


What question is constantly asked about your work?

“Do you make prints?” I’m currently exploring that idea…I’ve started with my first prints on my postcards and greeting cards…I think I’ll build from there 🙂


Where else can you be found on the web?

http://www.facebook.com/pages/JATArt/212463512118274

Name 5 of your favorite ETSY shops.

Here are my NON- STATTEAM FAVORITES (Because I have way more than 5 faves in the STATTEAM)

http://www.etsy.com/shop/cocoondesigns

http://www.etsy.com/shop/bullfinchbarbury

http://www.etsy.com/shop/MarciG

http://www.etsy.com/shop/RobinMariaPedrero

http://www.etsy.com/shop/tookies

One thought on “Meet Tylerja AKA JAT ART on Etsy

Leave a Reply

