My Interview with this weeks STATTEAM Treasury Challnege: Mojo3777creations

The winner for the STATTEAM Saturday Treasury Challenge is Mojo3777creations!
Congratulations Moriah, your treasury rocked!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What impresses me most with Moriah is how wide spread her crafting skills are. Most Esty artists, myself included, work with one type of medium, and stick to one particular line of creations. Moriah on the other hand seems to be able to use her skills to create various types of handmade goodies!
I’m quite amazed of where her creativity takes her.

Here is my interview with Mojo3777creations:

What is the first thing that usually comes to your mind first thing in the morning?
Haha πŸ™‚ I get Etsy email on my phone, so all night it is buzzing, I keep it plugged in in the room next to my bedroom so I don’t hear it when I am sleeping, but when I start to wake up in the morning, it is the first thing I hear every morning, so naturally my first thought is “I wonder how many emails I have, and if any of them are orders?” LOL I seem to get a lot of orders when I am sleeping πŸ™‚ I have to admit, it is a much better thought than when I had a job outside my home, my alarm would go off and my first thought would be a bunch of cussing in my head!! LOL

What are some fun facts about you that may or may not be directly related to your art?
I love to bake πŸ™‚ bread, cakes, cookies, pies-I don’t usually eat a lot of what I bake, but my family loves it, I get a lot of satisfaction out of creating something wonderful to eat…And I LOVE to sing Karaoke, my husband and I purchased a professional karaoke system a couple of years ago, and considered becoming KJ/DJ’s, but never did follow through…I think it was mostly the idea of having to be gone all night to work that was not appealing, esp with the kids…but I love to sing classic country, current country, rock and roll, 80’s rock, classic rock-anything I can πŸ™‚ My mother and step dad had an 80’s metal band the whole time I was growing up… Every Thursday night it was band practice at our house, my mom started out playing the drums when she was a teen, and then started singing as she got older, they covered bands like AC/DC, Guns n Roses, Motley Crue, Ozzy…My mom still listens to metal music and goes to concerts, she is in her 50’s…I am a metal head as well, but I love all kinds of music now.

What is the strangest or funniest comment or question you’ve ever gotten about your work?
I sent my step sister a gift package for Mother’s Day and her daughter’s birthday in May, and in it I included a pair of barefoot sandals for each of them…a couple of days later, she sent me a message and said “I love the package you sent, but what are those beaded things? We have been sitting here for 2 days trying to figure out what to do with them”…LOL I never even thought about including an explanation, I guess I just arrogantly thought she was looking at my facebook page since she is a fan and would know what they were!!! LOL it was funny to me πŸ™‚

What term would you use to describe your creative talent:
I don’t know I think of myself as being crafty I guess

Why is it you see yourself in this way?
I like to try everything, I feel like Susie Homemaker, I can pretty much do anything crafty…

How did you begin with this creative process and how does it add to your life?
I guess I really started when I had kids, I loved to have big themes for their birthday parties…I love anything with a theme, I love Halloween and costume parties…I think that is why I do so well with the treasuries is because I love to create something with a theme, I put so much time into finding the right items to match my theme LOL but it is a fun creative outlet for me…It gives me a personal satisfaction to create something beautiful, and I am always very popular with the kids teachers because I bring wonderful things for class parties! LOL

Were you creative before this time? If so, what other creative arts do/did you dabble in?
Oh wow…I have done a little bit of everything…I learned to crochet when I was a young girl, I used to love to create collages, I made a few Quillows, I used to sell Italian charm bracelets and make photo charms, I’ve made candles, more recently I refinished old furniture with paint and decoupage, and of course baking, creating gift baskets with food, decorating birthday cakes…

Can you remember the first creation that you made? As I mentioned above I learned to crochet when I was about 10 and I made a scarf and pot holders as Christmas gifts for my grandparents.

Is there something else that you made that you are particularly proud of?
A couple of years ago I decorated my daughter’s room in hot pink and zebra stripes, I was very proud of all the work I did there. I did her desk, chair, an antique foot stool, her light switch cover, curtains, painted the walls…everything matched, but there I go with the themes again πŸ™‚ Unfortunately we sold our house and moved and she decided she liked purple and green, so I sold all the Hot pink and Zebra stuff as a set, it sold fast πŸ™‚

Do you have a particular customer (on or off the internet) that you remember particularly well for good reasons?
When I first started on Etsy I was selling Creamer Coffee spoons, (I am going to share this creation of mine when summer is over, too hot to make right now)…anyway, this girl contacted me and wanted to order 100 for a some banquet at a University…I was so excited, because I was new on Etsy and it was an order for 100! Anyway, I bent over backwards for her, offered her an outstanding price, (because she said she would have to pay with her own money) answered all her emails promptly, then she wanted me to take a payment with the University credit card, but she didn’t want to do it through paypal…I was thinking, I thought she was paying with her own money, blahblahblah, and I have no other way of accepting credit cards…I offered to take a check, but at this point she needed the spoons in like 5 days! It turned out to be a nightmare and I didn’t get the sale…All my other sales and transactions have been perfect so far…:)

Have you ever created an online tutorial or video? Would you share it with us and has it helped your Etsy business?
I have created some tutorials, you can find them on my blog http://www.mojo3777.blogspot.com I am also going to add a new tutorial on the Statteam Blog this week πŸ™‚ so keep your eyes out for it πŸ™‚
Here is one I did on how to make a feather hair clip, I posted it on You tube, got a few nice comments πŸ™‚ I am not sure if it helped my Etsy business…
mojo3777.blogspot.com/2011/03/tutorial-how-to-make-feather-roach-or.html

What are the three websites you couldn’t live without?
Right now Etsy, Blogger, and Paypal πŸ™‚

When you have a quiet moment to indulge yourself and there’s no one around to bother you, what is it you like to do best?
LOL Crank the music and clean house! πŸ™‚ I love to clean house, it is so hard when everyone is home, because as soon as I clean something, someone is right behind me making a mess! πŸ™‚

What question is constantly asked about your work?
When are you going to make more batiks?? πŸ™‚ I love making batiks!! I am going to batik my heart out when school starts! You will see a shop full of batiks by Christmas πŸ™‚

Name 5 of your favorite ETSY shops

You know this is the hardest question on here! I have met some of the most amazing and talented people ever, right here on Etsy…I love the Statteam, my best friends are here πŸ™‚ I want to name 50 not 5! πŸ™‚ I thought about this question all night, I don’t want to leave anyone out, I don’t want anyone to feel less important to me, I love you all and you all know who you are…you are my best friends πŸ™‚
So this is what I am going to do, I am going to share with you 5 shops that I love on Etsy, and only 1 of them is a Statteam member, and she just recently joined. πŸ™‚ This is my way of introducing 5 shops that you may not yet know about, and that I love πŸ™‚

The new addition to Statteam that I love is Pearle fromwww.etsy.com/shop/PearlesPainting – I have been admiring her shop for a long time now, she won my 420 facebook giveaway πŸ™‚ She does beautiful work, I love the detail she puts in her designs, her style really speaks to me. πŸ™‚ I am glad she is a part of the Statteam πŸ™‚

I also LOVE Katwise http://www.etsy.com/shop/katwise I so want to own one of her creations! I would never spend that much money on myself, not with 4 kids to buy clothes for…but she is on my dream wish list!! (maybe one of these days I will put it on lay- a-way) I love her free style spirit too, her facebook page gives an inside look to her life and I am in love with her πŸ™‚

Next is Moovmint http://www.etsy.com/shop/moovmint I love this shop, I love these shoes and want a pair πŸ™‚ This is one of the first shops on Etsy that I favorited πŸ™‚ One of these days I will have a pair of these shoes πŸ™‚

Then there is Maty Davis Jeans http://www.etsy.com/shop/matydavis she is so busy, she had to put her shop on vacation to catch up…I was lucky enough to win a pair of her jeans from her blog give away, they are so awesome and hot!! I love her shop, and I hope you can all visit it when she re-opens.

I also love Aquariann http://www.etsy.com/shop/aquariann I love her fairies, she has an awesome blog full of useful information. You can find her button on my blog πŸ™‚

and I know this is #6 but none of you probably know this, but my mom has opened an Etsy shop too. She doesn’t have a lot of time to work on it, but she is trying…I want to share her link, because of course I love her πŸ™‚
http://www.etsy.com/shop/violetblue1922

Thank you Jewelz for giving me the opportunity to share πŸ™‚ this was a wonderful interview, I enjoyed it so much!! πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “My Interview with this weeks STATTEAM Treasury Challnege: Mojo3777creations

Leave a Reply

