Meet jessica the Artist behind Jat* Art on Etsy

Hi! I’m super excited to introduce you to an incredibly fun etsy seller: Jessica from tylerja.etsy.com. I love her beautiful and delightful designs!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1. Tell us your personal name, business name, website and location?
My name is Jessica Tyler…you guys know me as tylerja (my username from my college email that I had used when I was only shopping on etsy…now I’m stuck with it) and my shop name is JAT*ART. You can find me on facebook :
http://www.facebook.com/pages/JATArt/212463512118274
and I’m currently living and working in Houston, Texas…and it’s hot!

2. What is your studio or workspace like, and how do you work in your studio?
I run my pharmaceutical sales company from my home and my office doubles as my studio…convenient for my etsy addiction since my computer is in the same room where I paint 🙂 The room is filled with my “works in progress” as well as art that I’ve collected…since I spend a lot of time in my office/studio I like to be surrounded by things that make me happy! I usually end up on the floor painting…I just can’t get comfortable sitting at my desk trying to work on stuff.

3. How would you describe and think of your style, what kind of handmade items do you make and what type of materials do you prefer?
My first love is painting and drawing and I’ve scratched my creative itch by knitting and other projects that just come along…Describing my style is difficult for me…I guess the only way I can categorize it would be to say fun and easygoing with a little funk mixed in:) not too complicated or fussy…I have fun creating everything I do and I think that shows in the end result. I mostly use acrylic and ink and with some of my mixed media pieces I play with driftwood, yarn, buttons, fabric and other found objects.

4. What new directions do you hope to move in the future?
I hope to grow as an artist. I’m always trying new techniques to find what works for me. I have art ADD so I’m always playing around with different ideas…clothes, pillows, photography, jewelry…any of those things could pop up in my shop one day 🙂 That’s the best thing about etsy…it encourages people to create ANYTHING and have a place to display your different creative ventures!

5. Do you have big plans, new ideas or designs you will be exploring soon?
I want my main focus to be painting and drawing…those just come naturally to me; but as I mentioned before…I’m always trying my hand at different creative projects so you never know what could pop up in my shop…I’m definitely looking into the idea of prints of my original work and working those into postcards, stationery etc.

6. What is your typical day like?
My mornings are filled with a little yoga, walking my dog, coffee or tea and etsy 🙂 Then I get to calling on my clients and placing orders with the pharmacy. I find breaks in the day when I work on projects or play in the occasional BNR…and of course if I get an etsy order I work on shipping my art off 🙂 My days are typically laid back unless I’m out fighting Houston traffic trying to get to clients.

7. How do you work during the day in your studio, and what keeps you inspired and motivated?
I’m always working on different projects so even if I get 30 minutes with a piece; it’s time well-spent. As I mentioned earlier, my days are usually laid back and there are some days where I do nothing but paint but since I do have another business I run; my art has to take a backseat when needed. One constant is MUSIC…always have the tunes pumping…and surrounding myself with art from other artists keeps me motivated.

8. Who are and are your mentors and inspirations?
My mom has always supported my creativity and independence…..probably because I’m just like her. She was always painting and working on batiks and designing jewelry and clothing when I was little. She taught art when I was growing up so I was lucky enough to grow up in a home with a studio…a place where I could be messy (messy Jessie) and create and play without worrying about anything. I hope to have a creative haven when I have kids…it’s definitely important to be able to express yourself in your own way. Other artists are inspirations to me too. I really appreciate when someone does their “own thing” it’s inspiring. And as always, music is a mainstay in my life and a huge part of my creative process.

9. I noticed you work with many medias, do you create one piece from start to finish, or do you create various components and then the piece grows to completion separately?
I’m constantly working on several different pieces. I have to really be in my mode to create something start to finish without working on something else. Probably because most of my pieces have different “layers” and some of them I just play with until they feel “right” so I’ll keep several in limbo before I decide to completely finish one. When I get in a creative mood I just go for it and there will be days where I create several pieces and then go a few days without painting.

10. Are there things that you enjoy and do often without putting it off, and other things that aren’t your favorite and you delay doing them?
I would typically say “no” because everything that I do I have fun with but I did just run into a commissioned piece that was making me want to pull my hair out…I LOVE AND WELCOME commissioned pieces and usually when someone requests one; it’s because they like my “style”….this piece gave me trouble because they wanted a “life-like” painting from a photograph. If you’ve looked at the stuff in my shop…unless you’re on acid; it’s not “true to life”… so this particular commissioned piece was definitely testing me and making me step outside my comfort zone (but hey, that’s where growth comes from, right?).

11. What sort of things do you prefer making and creating, what comes easily to you?
Drawing is probably my strong suit…I love playing with paint and color though so that’s why you’ll find a lot of my pieces have both paint and ink…that’s the most natural process for me.

12. What are the things you consider most important to do for your business and your creativity?
For me having fun is the best thing to do for my business and my creativity…when I’m having fun my creative juices flow and I end up with better art…and as soon as all this is no longer fun I’ll move onto something else….but I have a feeling that will never happen 🙂

13. What would you recommend for others Etsians who may just be getting started?
Get involved! STATTEAM has been super supportive and I have a lot of you to thank for my etsy success! When you take the time to get involved with your teams you will benefit. Creating treasuries, participating in BNRs and discussions all put your shop out there for others to see. When you help promote others you in turn promote yourself. It’s a lovely cycle 🙂

2 thoughts on “Meet jessica the Artist behind Jat* Art on Etsy

Leave a Reply

