Meet Christy, the Artist behind Dragonpop on Etsy

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Tell us your personal name, business name, website and location?

My name is Christy Angelicchio. My business name is Dragonpop. My work is available through my shop on Etsy. The web address is: http://www.etsy.com/shop/dragonpop?ref=si_shop. I work from my home in Noblesville, IN.

What is your studio or workspace like, and how do you work in your studio?

My studio is actually my dining room. Eventually I hope to move it to the loft when my youngest is a bit older. Commandeering the dining room allows me to work in spurts when time allows throughout the day.

How would you describe and think of your style, what kind of jewelry do you make and what type of materials do you prefer?

I like to think my style is all about fun! When I create I hope the end result will bring a smile to someone’s face. When I make my jewelry I like it to be bold. I infuse bright colors and fun prints whenever I can.

What new directions do you hope to move in the future?

Wow that’s a tough question to answer. My bucket list is LOOONG! Every day I think of new things I’d love to try. I know I will eventually add some home decor items (ie: pillows, picture frames, anything I can work with Italian mosaic tiles on). I’ve made beanbag chairs in the past so I’m sure I will have some of those in the future.

Do you have any new ideas or designs you will be exploring soon?

I guess I’m adding items as they make sense style wise to my shop. I’ve begun taking some of my ring designs and implementing them into hair clips. I’m working on key chains and bookmarks. I’m also investigating the sizes of e-readers to add some cases for them in the future.

What is your typical day like?

This is going to sound like a cop-out but it really depends on my mood. The whole reason I opened my shop was so that I could be in charge of my destiny. I do what I’m in the mood to do that day 🙂

How do you work during the day in your studio, and what keeps you inspired and motivated?

Much of the time I work with my youngest sitting next to me. He gathers a battalion of toys and plays while I sew or work clay. He tells me stories about what’s going on in the little world he creates 🙂 It’s cool to share those moments. I couldn’t have that if I worked outside of the home. THAT is a huge motivator!

Who are and are your mentors and inspirations?

My Grandfather is my hero. He will be gone 16 years at the end of May. He taught me to be accountable. I try to live a worthy life and not make promises I can’t keep. My Mother-in-Law has also played a huge role in my life. She is always happy and giving. I try to translate these lessons into my art and the way I treat those who frequent my shop. It’s all about “Pay it Forward”.

I noticed you work with many medias, using fabric, wire, polymer clay, and others. Do you create one piece from start to finish, or do you create various components and then the piece grows to completion separately?

I usually have an idea before I begin. Some of my fabric flowers evolved on their own. I love to play around with marrying patterns and textures.

Are there things that you enjoy and do often without putting it off, and other things that aren’t your favorite and you delay doing them?

Instituting “New” ideas is always easier than re-creating a piece that’s become popular. I love to see if I can manifest what my mind envisions. I guess that’s why there are so many OOAK items in my shop.

What sort of things do you prefer making and creating, what comes easily to you?

I guess the gaudy pieces are easiest. I know there will be people who don’t “Get it”. That’s okay. I kind of welcome even those reactions. It’s better than not being seen ya know?

What are the things you consider most important to do for your business and your creativity?

Staying fresh is the most important thing for me personally. If I burn out I stop and I don’t ever want to stop!

What would you recommend for others who may just be getting started?

You need to just do it. Start small. List one item. Don’t think in grand terms right out of the starting gate. It’s easy to psych yourself out of making a move by overwhelming yourself with all the planning. “One” is far less daunting. What have you got to lose other than the 20 cents it costs to list?

Thank you Christy for this wonderful interview! I really enjoyed it and I love browsing through your shop!

6 thoughts on “Meet Christy, the Artist behind Dragonpop on Etsy

Leave a Reply

