My interview with Junk it Love’s artist Donna Carter

One of my favorite Etsy shops is Junk it Love, there you will find art, jewelery, home wares, sculpture, glass etc.There is an adult theme to a lot of her items. Donna loves to design & create beauty using upcycled & reclaimed materials.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



Here is my interview with Donna:

Tell us your personal name, business name, website and location?
My personal name is Donna, my really really personal name, the one my wife calls me, I’m not telling! My business name is Junkitlove, born out of the fact I love taking other peoples junk and turning it into something lovely again :-). My website is http://www.junkitlove.co.uk, I live in Hampshire, UK, near the New Forest with my computer boff wife, handsome yet terminally lazy son Beau, a blind dog with bat ears, a stinky sometimes white dog who talks by grunting, burping and farting, a bad tempered black cat and some small fish who have been begging for quite some time to have their tank cleaned.


What is your studio or workspace like, and how do you work in your studio?

It’s like the kind of place my mum would describe as a bombsite lol! I have a fab desk that was a dining table, it’s been modified by my wife to work perfectly for me, I love it, it’s my own personal spot of heaven. It’s in a bay window at the front of the house, facing the street so I can have a nose at the world going by with the TV on behind me so I have some ‘company’ while I work.

How would you describe and think of your style, what kind of jewelry do you make and what type of materials do you prefer?
Eclectic. That is such a difficult question to answer. It depends on which part of my character is feeling strongest on any given day. Sometimes my style is a bit dark and kinky, other times I’m all happy hippy rainbow. I’m a person of extremes. Whatever material I’m using is the one I love best, but the one I go back to again and again is glass, it’s amazingly versatile and pictures never do it justice.

What new directions do you hope to move in the future? Do you have big plans, new ideas or designs you will be exploring soon?
I’d love to say I have a plan mapped out but other than earning a living and buying a home the rest is a mystery and an adventure!

How do you work during the day in your studio, and what keeps you inspired and motivated?
I tend to have about half a dozen coffee’s then start my day as my teeth start to chatter :-). I work in short bursts of about 20-30 mins most of the time due to the attention span deficit lol, then I go do cleaning, chat online, go to the shops, fuss the dogs etc…oh and more coffee. Everything inspires me, from the beautiful shimmer of oil in water (it should be ugly but it isn’t), a want to use what others see as rubbish to transform it into something those same people would want, to other peoples fantastic art and design, I’m always inspired by creative people.


I noticed you work with many medias, using rubber, glass, wire and others. Do you create one piece from start to finish, or do you create various components and then the piece grows to completion separately?

It’s quite unusual for me to stick to one thing until it’s complete, with the exception of rubber pieces for some reason. I have the teeny weeniest attention span and even less ability to sit still long enough to finish something in one go! Generally I start with an idea of what I want to create and then over days it changes itself into something totally different lol! I have at least half a dozen things on the go at once, from paintings to mosaics, jewels to sculpture etc


Are there things that you enjoy and do often without putting it off, and other things that aren’t your favorite and you delay doing them?

I never put off creating. I love it when everyone else has left the house and I can concentrate on letting my brain spew out all over my desk. I avoid any kind of organisation or ‘grown up’ behaviour at all costs, the word procrastination in that regard was invented just for me. For example, for every 1 thing you see in my shop there are at least 20 more waiting to be listed, but that means sitting for hours and then finding the words to describe things properly, it’s important to me that if something I’ve made has a story from my mind I share it, it’s a bit like torture trying to put into words what I’ve made.

What sort of things do you prefer making and creating, what comes easily to you?
I’m a contrary annoying creature, I like to make things as difficult for myself as possible. To try new things, get a handle on that and then move on to the next thing. Working with glass is the one thing I find quite easy and I can disappear into that for hours at a time, a relief for someone who can’t stick at one thing for very long.

What are the things you consider most important to do for your business and your creativity?
For my business it would be to be nice to my wife lol! Without her nagging (sorry, encouraging) in the background and actively doing most of the photography, listing other than descriptions, driving me around so I can look in peoples rubbish etc I wouldn’t be able to get on with the business of planning, thinking, drawing, designing and ultimately making.

What would you recommend for others who may just be getting started?
Ooo that’s a hard one, for creativity I would say ‘just do it’, anything, whatever so long as you are physically ‘doing’ then you won’t seize up! Getting started in a business sense, I would say be determined, do research, listen to anyone and everyone, don’t give in at the first hurdle, there’s gonna be many many hurdles but if you work hard and have ‘something’, you will get where you want to be eventually.

Thank you Donna for this fantastic interview!!!

3 thoughts on “My interview with Junk it Love’s artist Donna Carter

Leave a Reply

