Room of Your Own Artist Pnina

Meet Pnina from Room of Your Own

Tell us a bit about yourself:
My name is Pnina, I am 46 years old and I live in Jerusalem with my husband, my two kids (my daughter is a student at the university and my son is a policeman) and two dogs, in a very old and special house that stands on a top of a hill and you can see the amazing view of the old and the new city of Jerusalem.

How did you decide on your shop name? Why did you start your business?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


I was always very creative; I used to create craft, renovate old or antique furniture, knitting, sewing and design jewelry as a hobby and as a giveaway to my family and friends. During the last few years, I have started marketing my stuff and I am doing very well, I joined Etsy and open my shop Room of Your Own and a whole new world of creation was discovered to me, however, I still keep my day job as an administration manager at a publishing house.

The name Room Of Your Own came from a real reality of mine and it’s a little bit funny. I still do not have a room of my own/studio in my house and I am working on my design in the living room.

What are 5 things you want people to think when they see your products/shop?
Nostalgia
Memories from the good old days
Love and Romance
Passion
Joy

What or who inspires you?
I really love old, antique and vintage things, so when I’m looking for something to inspire me I usually go to flea markets or farm markets and vintage stores. I also get inspired by watching old or even new movies.

What jewelry other women are wearing. But mostly the materials that I have in front of me inspire me; there are ones that stick out that I fall in love with. I use my “inspiration” beads to start designing a piece that’s in my head. I will often have an idea, and it won’t leave me alone until I produce it. I also get fashion trends updates from my daughter and her young friends.

What are your best marketing tips?
If you really would like it to have success then ever give up. If you will do it from real love and you will believe in yourself the good results will come…and you need a good camera as well 🙂

In ten years I’d like to be…
My shop Room of Your Own is a great way to show my work, to spread the word about my new creations. My dream is that one day it will become my full time job. It gives me a great pleasure and happiness to know that somewhere on this big planet there are women that are wearing my design jewelry and that it makes them happy and feel good as well.

What is your favorite thing about creating STAT Team treasuries?
That I can choose from a very large variety of beautiful and very unique items made of talented creators.

Why should people buy handmade?
Buying handmade was always very important to me. I know the love and care that I put into my handmade items so I know that others do so as well.

What do you enjoy most about the Etsy STAT Team?
That I have the chance to be exposed and to meet unique and talented people from all around the globe.

What have been the most valuable lessons you’ve learned from other artists or Etsyians?
I learned that there are artists that can really make a living out of the Etsy shop and they’re also dreamers like myself.

What are the web addresses where people can find you? (website, etsy, blog, facebook fan page, flickr, etc.)
My Etsy shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/roomofyourown

You can join Pnina: facebook at http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/profile.php?id=1313953095

One thought on “Room of Your Own Artist Pnina

Leave a Reply

