Interview with Marcy from My Stitch in Time

My Interview with Marcy…..

Can you tell us a bit about yourself and your shop?
I am a stay at home mom who loves crafts of all kinds but crochet is my first love.

What inspired you to open your shop?I sold a few hats on craigslist and got a good response from my buyers so I decided to give Etsy a shot.

Besides designing & creating things, what do you do? My children and family keep me very busy so most of my creativy takes place at night. I am also interested in photography so I hope to be able to channel some of my energy in that direction in the future.

Where, who or what does your influence come from? My influence for the items in my shop comes from things I make for my daughter and niece.

What inspires you to be creative?
For myself I love earth tones and natural colors and for little girls I like the typical pinks and fun brights. I don’t really plan things I am very spontaneous and random so this is reflected in my shop.

How do you get out of a creative rut?When I am in a creative rut I simply take a few days off and get back to it when I feel the desire to.

When did you first discover that you were or wanted to be an artist?
My mother was always very artistic so crafting came naturally. I don’t know if I could pinpoint making a decision about it.

Can you describe your creative process for us?
My creative process involves spreading out skeins and skeins of yarn and then placing them in different groups of color combinations I like.

What is your most cherished handmade possession?
My most cherished handmade posssesion is a ring bearer pillow my grandmother made for my wedding. The pillow made it through a housefire where almost everything else was destroyed.

Where do you see or want your shop to be this time next year?
By this time next year I hope to be selling atleast two items a day. This may not seem like a lot to some but it is a realistic goal for me.

Where would you like to be in ten years?Ten years from now I hope to be making an income from my crochet while still being able to give my children the attention they need.

What is your best advice to newbie Etesian’s just opening their shops?

Don’t open it up and think your going to sell things without a lot of advertising, promoting and hard work. I am still on a learning curve and quite new so I am still following the advice of the other veteran Etsy’ers out there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

