Interview with Elizabeth Matlack from Oddball Art Co.

My interview with Elizabeth of Oddball Art Co.:

Can you tell us a bit about yourself and your shop?

Well I am an artist that is very passionate about original artwork! I love to create one of a kind unique pieces that will never be duplicated cause I feel that everyone deserves to hang an original on their walls. I don’t believe in prints which is why you will never find an Oddball Art print, only originals, hence the chosen name ‘Oddball Art Co.’ each piece is truly an oddball, one of a kind unique piece.

What inspired you to open your shop?

It has always been a dream of mind to be a working artist, I finally took the leap last summer and bought my domain name and attempted to set up a shopping cart on my own website. Creating the website was a cinch, adding the shopping cart to it, not so much and it was during that time that I discovered Etsy and it couldn’t have come at a more perfect time! So I opened up shop and connected it to my website and everything has gone exactly to plan since.

Besides designing & creating things, what do you do?

I have a wonderful and supportive husband named Adam and 5 fur kids, Isabelle a golden Doodle, 3 cats and a rabbit that keep my hands very full and other then that I try to spend as much waking time in my studio as possible! I absolutely love to paint and there is nothing I would rather be doing with my time ever.

Where, who or what does your influence come from?

My influences come from nature mostly, I live out in the country in such a small town that all we have is a gas station but I love it this way. I live in a very old house that sits in a beautiful yard with alot of old big trees and lots of gardens, well in the spring/summer theres lots of gardens and I have 2 big windows in my studio which btw is painted hot pink, and I find that this gives me the perfect setting to find my inspiration in nature and in everyday life.

What inspires you to be creative?

I find the wonderful feeling of self accomplishment that I feel after I have created my vision makes it all worth while, not to mention the total relaxation that painting gives me, hours fly by that feel like minutes.

How do you get out of a creative rut?

If I feel like Im in a creative rut I simply take Isabelle out for long walk in the country and usually within minutes I can feel the creative energy rush back through me.

When did you first discover that you were or wanted to be an artist?

I first discovered that I wanted to pursue art as soon as I was old enough to make art! I remember as a child I was always creating and setting up a table in my parent’s front yard to sell my creations at the side of the road! I actually sold quite a few pieces back then surprisingly!

Can you describe your creative process for us?

My creative process starts with and Earl Gray tea, my old records on the record player and my incense or a nice smelling candle going and then I paint whatever I am feeling at that moment but I always have to have that same setting to do it for some reason.

What is your most cherished handmade possession?

Well, my Papa was an artist as well and he is long passed away but I have his old sketch book full of all his nature/wildlife sketches some just in pencil some with ink and they are all just beautiful but you can tell its old as the paper has sort of yellowed and the cover has fallen off of the book over time but I have all the sketches perfectly in tact and in a protective place and I will always cherish it.

Where do you see or want your shop to be this time next year?

I would like to see my shop bringing in enough income to support myself with my art by this time next year, I only opened my shop this past November and February has just been my best month yet, and since each month just keeps getting better I am hoping that it shouldn’t be a problem making that a reality by this time next year.

Where would you like to be in ten years?

In ten years I would like to be a recognized artist that is making enough money from my art to live comfortably where ever I would like and be able to buy a house that is big enough and has a big enough property to start an animal sanctuary for homeless and abused animals to go and be saved.

What is your best advice to newbie Etesian’s just opening their shops?

My best advice to newbie Etsians would be to be as active in the Etsy community as they can be, consider themselves a sponge and just absorb as much info from Teams, forums, blogs, facebook pages everywhere, as they can, you never know enough and there is always something to learn.

Leave a Reply

